Platinum Jubilee Civic Honours

Posted on 9th June 2022

Our congratulations to the eight towns elevated to city status, by Her Majesty, as part of the Platinum Jubilee celebrations. Our colleagues who work in these new cities will soon turn their attention to organising ceremonies for the presentation of Letters Patent.

The eight are:

Bangor, Colchester, Doncaster, Douglas, Dunfermline, Milton Keynes, Stanley and Wrexham.

The civic honours competition required applicants to show their cultural heritage and royal links as well as how their local identities and communities meant they deserved to be granted city status.

There are now 76 cities across the four home nations.

Congratulations too to Southampton. In a further Jubilee Honour the city has been awarded Lord Mayor status - this in the year that the city also celebrates its 800th Mayor.

  Back to News