Civic Office of the Year


The National Association of Civic Officers has promoted the Civic Office of the Year Award since 2003 and the Award has been won by a range of Councils from a very large City Council to a small Town Council with a part time Civic Officer.

The Award is designed to recognise and promote the work undertaken in your civic office where it contributes to the service provided to the community by your Council.

We are grateful for the continuing support, as award sponsors, of Vaughtons and Logocloth.


LogoCloth logo2 

The criteria on which entries are judged include:

Quality and Innovation

In the service you provide to your Mayor/Chairman

In the service provided to your Council

In the service provided to your Community

Promotion of the Office of Mayor/Chairman

In your Council and/or Community


How you have used your resources to best effect?

Don’t wait for others to do it for you, nominate your own civic office!

The information for the 2016 award was a prize of £500 cash would be awarded to the winning Office together with the trophy, and certificates.

Entry was simple - "no more than 10 pages of A4 (either electronic or hard copy) (please note that anything from page 11 onwards won’t be judged!)"

The Award was presented at the NACO Training Event  held in Belper and was won by the City of Wolverhampton Council

For further information about the award scheme please contact NACO Executive Member, Christine Christensen, on 

Details concerning entry for the 2017 Award will be announced during the Autumn of 2017

Previous Winners

DSC 450


Presentation of Civic Office of the Year Award 2016 to City of Wolverhampton Council

NACO congratulations Wolverhampton on its success. 

Please look at their submission

2016 Submission by City of Wolverhampton Council


Cornwall County


Charnwood Borough Council


Bracknell Forest Council


Broxstowe Borough Council


Waveney District Council


Chesterfield Borough Council


London Borough of Croydon


Nottinghamshire County Council


Cambridge City Council


Derby City Council


Prestatyn Town Council


Blenau Gwent Borough Council


Liverpool City Council